You asked about my connection to old houses. I am a romantic; for the neglected, the forgotten, the un-pretty. When something is weathered, a house particularly it can set me off into dreaming about the life of the inhabitants inside. The ghosts. My mind drifts not to sophisticated educated people but working class people who are less pretentious and are not buying art but living it by the soulful way they live out their lives. All people can be interesting to watch and listen to if one is in the right spirit. There is a coffee shop that I frequent that is a stones throw away from the old house that I love to shoot pictures of. From my window seat there I often look at the old house for a weird sort of comfort. Someday some developer will renovate it and wash away it’s old soul. Or perhaps it will always be there. A ghost. A marker of a different era.

Leave a Reply

